Nominations and Elections

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 20-9047

SIXTH EMERGENCY ORDER REGARDING THE COVID-19 STATE OF DISASTER

ORDERED that:

- 1. Governor Abbott has declared a state of disaster in all 254 counties in the State of Texas in response to the imminent threat of the COVID-19 pandemic.
- 2. This Order supplements and does not replace or amend prior Emergency Orders Regarding the COVID-19 State of Disaster.
- 3. The Court's Order issued February 7, 2005, in Misc. Dkt. No. 05-9012, effectively allowed electronic voting in elections of the State Bar of Texas. Since then, voting in those elections has been both by electronic means and by paper ballot.
- 4. Because of uncertainty regarding the feasibility of handling paper ballots during the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 elections for presidents-elect and directors of the State Bar of Texas and the Texas Young Lawyers Association must be conducted online only, by electronic vote, and not by paper ballot. The voting period is extended to May 29, 2020, at 5:00pm.
- 5. The order expires at the conclusion of the 2020 elections of the State Bar of Texas and the Texas Young Lawyers Association unless extended by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.
 - 6. The Clerk of the Supreme Court is directed to:
 - a. post a copy of this Order on www.txcourts.gov;
 - b. file a copy of this Order with the Secretary of State; and

- c. send a copy of this Order to the Governor, the Attorney General, and each member of the Legislature.
- 7. The State Bar of Texas is directed to take all reasonable steps to notify members of the Texas bar of this Order.

Dated: March 22, 2020

Vethen a. Self
Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice
Janu Ben
Paul W. Green, Justice
La M. Gusman
Eva M. Guzman, Justice
Delra D. Lehrmann
Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice
Let my Boya
Jeffley S. Boyd, Justice
The wind
John P. Devine, Justice
1 Blill
James D. Blacklock, Justice
Je Freth Burlay
J. Brett Busby, Justice
_
Jane n. Bland
Jane N. Bland, Justice

Misc. Docket No. 20-9047

STATE BAR OF TEXAS – BOARD OF DIRECTORS DISTRICT ELECTIONS – 2020

BAR DISTRICTS	PRESENT DIRECTORS	CERTIFIED CANDIDATES	COUNTIES INCLUDED IN THE DISTRICT
District 4			Harris
Place 2:	2: Neil D. Kelly (Houston)	2: Benny Agosto, Jr. (Houston)	
		2: Daniel O'Neil (Houston)	
Place 4:	4: Dinesh H. Singhal (Houston)	4: Lucy Forbes (Houston)	
		4: JoAnne Musick (Houston)	
Place 6:	6: K. Nicole Voyles (Houston)	6: Andrew Tolchin (Houston)	
District 6 Place 3:	3: Jerry C. Alexander (Dallas)	3: Rebekah Perlstein (Addison)	Dallas
		3: Mary L. Scott (Dallas)	
Place 4:	4: David C. Kent (Dallas)	4: Chad Baruch (Dallas)	
District 9		,	Travis
Place 1:	1: Leslie W. Dippel (Austin)	1: D. Todd Smith (Austin)	
District 11	Robert E. McKnight, Jr. (Victoria)	Carra Miller (Corpus Christi)	Aransas, Bee, Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Gonzalez, Guadalupe, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kleberg, Live Oak, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, (Victoria), and Wilson Counties
District 12	Allison W. Colvin (Brownsville)	Alyson A. Martinez (Laredo)	Atascosa, Brooks, (Cameron), Dimmit, Duval, Frio, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Kenedy, LaSalle, Maverick, McMullen, Star, Webb, Willacy, Zapata, and Zavala Counties
		Lydia Elizondo Mount (McAllen)	

STATE BAR OF TEXAS – BOARD OF DIRECTORS
DISTRICT ELECTIONS – 2020

BAR DISTRICTS	PRESENT DIRECTORS	CERTIFIED CANDIDATES	COUNTIES INCLUDED IN THE DISTRICT
District 14	Amie S. Peace (Denton)	Kimberly Pack Wilson (Stephenville)	Archer, Baylor, Brown, Callahan, Clay, Coleman, Comanche, Cooke, (Denton), Eastland, Erath, Haskell, Hood, Jack, Jones, Montague, Palo, Pinto, Parker, Runnels, Shackelford, Somervell, Stephens, Taylor, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, and Young Counties
District 17	Aldo R. Lopez (El Paso)	Steve Fischer (El Paso)	Brewster, Culberson, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis and Presidio Counties
		Daniel Hernandez (El Paso)	

^{# -} Counties in bold print are ineligible for campaign during the 2020 elections. See State Bar Rules Article IV, Section 5(3)(b), which addresses the issue of succession, and Article I (5), which defines metropolitan areas. Districts 4, 6, 9, 12, and 14 require 100 signatures. District 11 requires 80 signatures and District 17 requires 67 signatures.