Consent Agenda Board of Directors April 17, 2020

As posted April 9, 2020

C1. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>:

(Minutes Tab) a. Approval of minutes of Board meeting conducted on January 24, 2020

C2. <u>ITEMS FROM THE PRESIDENT</u>:

Approval of appointments to the following entities:

a. 2020-2021 Special Committee to Nominate ABA Delegates:

Laura Gibson, *Chair* (Houston) Kim Askew (Dallas) Jay Ray (Plano) Hon. Jennifer Rymell (Fort Worth) William LaFuze (Houston)

- b. Commission for Lawyer Discipline:
 - 1) for one-year terms effective September 1, 2020, through August 31, 2021:

Gena Bunn, *Chair* (Longview) Roberto Ramirez, *Vice Chair* (McAllen)

2) For three-year terms effective September 1, 2020, through August 31, 2023:

Magali Suarez Candler (Houston) Sally Pretorius (Dallas)

c. Law Focused Education, Inc for two-year terms effective June 1, 2020, through May 31, 2022:

Sabrina S. Blankenship, (Lubbock) Jerry Polen (San Antonio) Daniel Hu (Houston) Mary Lee Webeck (Houston)

d. Texas Center for Legal Ethics, for three-year terms effective June 1, 2020, through May 31, 2023:

Barbara Bass, Public Member (Tyler) Allan DuBois (San Antonio) Victoria Mather (San Antonio)

e. 2020 Annual Meeting co-chairs

Quentin Brogdon (Dallas) Ellen Farrell (Plano) Amy M. Stewart (Dallas)

Consent Agenda Board of Directors April 17, 2020

C3. <u>ITEMS FROM THE PRESIDENT-ELECT</u>:

(Yellow Tab A)**a.** Approval of appointments: State Bar committees, chairs, co-chairs, vice chairs, co- vice chairs, and members to serve during the year 2020-21 bar year per State Bar Rules, Art. VIII, Section 1B

b. Texas Bar Foundation Board of Trustees

1) For three-year terms, effective June 1, 2020, through May 31, 2023:

Jennifer Chiang (Sugarland) Jarrod T. Foerster, Public Member (Houston)

2) For a one year term, effective June 1, 2020 through May 31, 2021:

Shari Goldsberry, Board Liaison (Texas City)

C4. ITEMS FROM COMMITTEES AND SECTIONS/DIVISIONS:

(Yellow Tab B) a. Tax Section Updated Bylaws

C5. <u>OTHER ITEMS</u>

- (Yellow Tab C) a. Approval of recipients for the pro bono and indigent defense awards to be presented at the Annual Meeting:
 - 1) Pro Bono Award: El Paso Probate Bar Association (El Paso)
 - 2) Frank J. Scurlock Award:
 - Jodi Goodwin (Harlingen)
 - 3) The J. Chrys Dougherty Legal Services Award: Lindsay Kinzie, The Gatehouse (Grapevine)
 - 4) W. Frank Newton Award: Rackspace Legal Team (Windcrest)
 - 5) Pro Bono Coordinator Award: Greg Zlotnick, St. Mary's University School of Law (San Antonio)
 - 6) Warren Burnett Award: David G. Hall (Weslaco) Ariel Payan (Austin)
 - 7) Michael K. Moore Award for Excellence in Research or Writing in the Area of Indigent Criminal Defense:

Dr. Andrew Davies (Dallas)

8) Pro Bono Support Staff Award:

Julie Sherman (Fort Worth)

- 9) Judge Merrill Hartman Pro Bono Judge Award: Judge Lela Mays (Dallas)
- (Yellow Tab D) b. Approval of recipient of the Nancy Garms Award: Timothy Dowling (Corpus Christi)

Consent Agenda Board of Directors April 17, 2020

As posted April 9, 2020

(Yellow Tab E) c. Approval of recipient of the Hon. Leon Jaworski Award for Teaching Excellence: Josh Caldwell (San Antonio)

C5. OTHER ITEMS continued

e. 2020 Annual Meeting Resolutions Committee: Officers: Chair: SBOT Immediate Past Chair of the Board Laura Gibson (Houston) Vice-Chair: TYLA Chair Courtney Barksdale Perez (Dallas) Secretary: Local Bar Leaders Committee Chair Hon. Mike Davis (Palestine) Parliamentarian: Jerry Alexander (Dallas) Alternates: Robert Crain (Dallas) David Kent (Dallas)

Review Committee: Jerry Alexander (Dallas) Rebekah Brooker (Dallas) Michael Hurst (Dallas)